Add Voids to selected space(s) tool

VE-Pro module for 3D geometry creation, data assignment and import functions.
L Headley
VE Beginner
VE Beginner
Posts: 23
Joined: Thu May 01, 2014 1:45 pm
Location: Stratford-Upon-Avon, UK

Add Voids to selected space(s) tool

Postby L Headley » Mon Nov 07, 2016 10:14 am

Hi,

Has anyone else noticed that when you use this tool on a space with windows it moves the windows down in the lower zone? if the window hits the floor it also cuts the size of the window potentially leaving you with less window area than you intended!

Is there a reason for this? I think we should be given the option to toggle this function because I did not want that to happen.

Luke

User avatar
david-ies
IES Staff
IES Staff
Posts: 48
Joined: Fri Mar 14, 2014 10:57 am
Location: Glasgow, UK
Contact:

Re: Add Voids to selected space(s) tool

Postby david-ies » Tue Nov 08, 2016 3:48 pm

Hi Luke,

That's by design as I assumed that there wouldn't be any glazing required in the void space. I'll speak to the guy who's taken the tool off me and as that he change that and add in a toggle as you suggest.

For the moment if you...
1) draw a temp zone along side the original space it'll get the windows copied on to it.
2) move that temp zone away from the model.
3) Use the add voids thing
4) move the temp zone over so it touches again
5) your windows will be back on the voids.

Thanks,
David.
--
David, IES Software Development

L Headley
VE Beginner
VE Beginner
Posts: 23
Joined: Thu May 01, 2014 1:45 pm
Location: Stratford-Upon-Avon, UK

Re: Add Voids to selected space(s) tool

Postby L Headley » Tue Nov 08, 2016 4:18 pm

Hi David,

I see the reasoning behind that, however in my scenario the windows would not have clashed with the void.

I am aware of that method as I use that for placing the windows to start with :)

Thanks for the response.

Luke

anto-ac
VE Newbie
VE Newbie
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Dec 12, 2016 11:03 am

Re: Add Voids to selected space(s) tool

Postby anto-ac » Thu Jun 15, 2017 5:29 pm

hello,

I have the same issue: I have a glazed facade where ceiling voids have windows too, and they get solar gains that are transferred to the adjacent rooms, so it's quite important to model them properly. Also, the problem is that not only full height windows are cut, but also the others are moved down. it's something quite annoying.

does anyone know if the problem has been fixed in 2017 version?

many thanks,
Antonietta


Return to “ModelIT”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests