Help needed.

Sophisticated 3D simulation of light levels using advanced ray-tracing techniques, covering luminance, illuminance, daylight factors, perceived impact, photorealistic visualisation
JBurgessTFG
VE Newbie
VE Newbie
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue Jan 28, 2014 3:23 pm

Re: Help needed.

Postby JBurgessTFG » Fri Feb 28, 2014 9:51 pm

Here are some images of my process:
Image

Image

Image

Image

Where are the components?!?!
Image

Any help, PLEASE! I really need to get these images!

User avatar
ZapBran
VE Expert
VE Expert
Posts: 315
Joined: Fri Apr 10, 2009 3:40 pm
Location: Manchester, UK

Re: Help needed.

Postby ZapBran » Sat Mar 01, 2014 1:58 am

Weird.
I know this sounds strange but... the model isn't really far from the origin point (0,0) is it?
I'm just beginning to wonder if the component fixing points are relative to the position of the room AND the position of the model compared to the origin.
You can check the position by looking at the X/Y when moving the mouse in ModelIT (can't remember if you see in Radiance).
If it is offset then move the model closer to 0,0.
If not then can you upload a CAB archive to somewhere and paste the link in a reply to this post - should be fine as long as you remove any sensitive (if any) details from the project (rename it and then delete any "HSBC Headquarters top secret" type text).

I can have a look tomorrow (sat) if between 10:30- 12:30... Blackburn game @ 3. ;)

Otherwise I'll try to check it out on Sunday night.

Zap.

JBurgessTFG
VE Newbie
VE Newbie
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue Jan 28, 2014 3:23 pm

Re: Help needed.

Postby JBurgessTFG » Mon Mar 10, 2014 1:52 pm

It's not far from 0,0. I've made that mistake before!
Here's a link to the .cab file: http://we.tl/tpgtcaHtwN
It's a very simple small file, because I was trying to eliminate any other factors. Let me know how this file works for you.

User avatar
ZapBran
VE Expert
VE Expert
Posts: 315
Joined: Fri Apr 10, 2009 3:40 pm
Location: Manchester, UK

Re: Help needed.

Postby ZapBran » Tue Mar 11, 2014 11:28 am

Loaded that model and it seems to work fine.
Image

Did you remember to go down to the actual room and switch the rooms on?

My workflow:
1. Open model
2. Go down a level and switch to component view to see that they are there
3. Switch to Radiance
4. Go down into room
5. Components - switch on
6. Generate image

I know you will have followed these steps - just laying them down to remove doubt.

Zap

JBurgessTFG
VE Newbie
VE Newbie
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue Jan 28, 2014 3:23 pm

Re: Help needed.

Postby JBurgessTFG » Tue Mar 11, 2014 3:21 pm

Yes, that is exactly what I've done. I think there is a problem with my install.
I've also found that the problem is worse now. VE crashes while trying to generate the image.
Should I uninstall VE, and try a fresh install?

Here is the windows error.
Problem signature:
Problem Event Name: BEX
Application Name: ve.exe
Application Version: 2013.2.0.2
Application Timestamp: 53022941
Fault Module Name: MSVCR100.dll
Fault Module Version: 10.0.40219.325
Fault Module Timestamp: 4df2be1e
Exception Offset: 0008af3e
Exception Code: c0000417
Exception Data: 00000000
OS Version: 6.1.7601.2.1.0.256.48
Locale ID: 1033
Additional Information 1: ed88
Additional Information 2: ed888c3795b7743cdc468ef2f441d008
Additional Information 3: 42e8
Additional Information 4: 42e8866a08369342d82db729cb73bb42

User avatar
Terence
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 320
Joined: Mon Aug 25, 2008 12:58 pm
Location: Glasgow, UK
Contact:

Re: Help needed.

Postby Terence » Tue Mar 11, 2014 5:22 pm

This is a known issue in VE 2013 Feature Pack 2 hotfix 2. See the known issues post in announcements for more on this including a workaround.
Terence McMahon
IES Technical Support
Linkedin

User avatar
ZapBran
VE Expert
VE Expert
Posts: 315
Joined: Fri Apr 10, 2009 3:40 pm
Location: Manchester, UK

Re: Help needed.

Postby ZapBran » Wed Mar 12, 2014 11:42 am

ah... I'll not update then! My laziness pays off at last! :D

JBurgessTFG
VE Newbie
VE Newbie
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue Jan 28, 2014 3:23 pm

Re: Help needed.

Postby JBurgessTFG » Wed Mar 12, 2014 11:46 am

@terance, this workaround works!
@zap, thanks for your input!


Return to “Radiance”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest