radiance - location mismatch error

For posts that don't quite fit into the other categories
la_bets
VE Student
VE Student
Posts: 27
Joined: Mon Sep 21, 2009 9:18 am

radiance - location mismatch error

Postby la_bets » Fri Nov 13, 2009 11:38 am

hello,

I am running a simulation for use in the apache radiance link, but i get the following file error when i try to read the .ill file:

File Error - location mismatch

Latitude: 45.37 (Model) 45.37 (File)
Long. Diff: 6.57 (Model) 6.57 (File)
Orientation: 344 (Model) -16 (File)

Where does the file take the location data from? I am using an energy plus weather data file for the simulations, and I set the location data in ApLocate according to it. About the orientation: 344 and -16 is the same, ModelT requires a positive number for orientation so I can't change it to -16.
Can anybody help?

Thank you

User avatar
PCully
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 1414
Joined: Tue Sep 09, 2008 9:52 am

Re: radiance - location mismatch error

Postby PCully » Fri Nov 13, 2009 1:46 pm

Hi,

I think can see what's going wrong here, will check this out myself and get back to you with any workaround you can use.

Phil
IES Worldwide Technical Support

la_bets
VE Student
VE Student
Posts: 27
Joined: Mon Sep 21, 2009 9:18 am

Re: radiance - location mismatch error

Postby la_bets » Sat Nov 14, 2009 5:47 pm

Phil,

thank you for your reply.
I also tried to run the simulation with apache and it does give results for illuminance in the rooms, I'm just not sure I can trust it.
I'd really appreciate some help, let me know if you find out something.

Bets

User avatar
PCully
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 1414
Joined: Tue Sep 09, 2008 9:52 am

Re: radiance - location mismatch error

Postby PCully » Mon Nov 16, 2009 3:21 pm

Hi,

My test passed but have just spoken to a member of the development team who made a fix for this scenario in <VE> 6.0.3 - due to be released this week sometime.

When this is released try re-running the calcs and if there is still a problem post here so I can check this out further.

Phil
IES Worldwide Technical Support

la_bets
VE Student
VE Student
Posts: 27
Joined: Mon Sep 21, 2009 9:18 am

Re: radiance - location mismatch error

Postby la_bets » Mon Nov 16, 2009 5:45 pm

Thanks a lot for your help!
I'll look for the fix release.

bets

la_bets
VE Student
VE Student
Posts: 27
Joined: Mon Sep 21, 2009 9:18 am

Re: radiance - location mismatch error

Postby la_bets » Sat Nov 28, 2009 10:54 am

Hi,

It's been a couple of weeks but I haven't seen any release of VE 6.0.3.
I am actualy running out of time, so do you know any way I can solve this myself?

Thanks a lot

BETS

User avatar
PCully
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 1414
Joined: Tue Sep 09, 2008 9:52 am

Re: radiance - location mismatch error

Postby PCully » Mon Nov 30, 2009 9:45 am

sorry, some final tweaks were made on Friday adn it's going through a little more testing before release. Will def be this week, apologies for the delay

Phil
IES Worldwide Technical Support

la_bets
VE Student
VE Student
Posts: 27
Joined: Mon Sep 21, 2009 9:18 am

Re: radiance - location mismatch error

Postby la_bets » Fri Dec 04, 2009 10:13 pm

Hi!
thanks for the answer again, i just installed the 6.0.3 hotfix and run some simulations. It doesn't show the location mismatch error anymore :)
I notice thought that like Silvestre that apache results for illuminance in the room seems to be different. What model of sky is it used in the apache radiance link?

User avatar
PCully
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 1414
Joined: Tue Sep 09, 2008 9:52 am

Re: radiance - location mismatch error

Postby PCully » Mon Dec 07, 2009 2:20 pm

Hi,

I checked this with one of our consultants and got an answer that i think explains any discrepancy you have seen.

For the Apache calculations within Radiance it performs a set of calculations every hour for one day each month. These calculations are performed on the 15th day of each month (the same day as the default SunCast calculations are performed). Three predetermined skies are used for each time step:
1) CIE overcast,
2) Clear Sky and
3) Sunny Sky.

When Apache reads in the generated Radiance illuminance file it then interpolates the 3 figures with the weather data recorded in the climate file to get one illuminance figure.

Hope this helps folks,

Phil
IES Worldwide Technical Support

la_bets
VE Student
VE Student
Posts: 27
Joined: Mon Sep 21, 2009 9:18 am

Re: radiance - location mismatch error

Postby la_bets » Sat Dec 12, 2009 6:11 pm

Thanks Phil, that's pretty helpful to know!
cheers


Return to “General Lighting”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest